Services in April

Hosted by: st Michael's Church & Choir

St Michael’s offers an inclusive welcome. Worship is traditional, music is excellent and people are friendly.

During Lent we spend more time in prayer and study to deepen & broaden our faith. At St Michael’s we use Wednesdays (3,10 Apr) for this. Stations of the Cross at 6pm is a prayerful 45min meditation on Jesus’ Passion. The Reading Group continues on the same 2 Wednesdays at 7pm for an hour or so as  we explore the writings of Cyprian, 3rd century Bishop and Martyr in Carthage.

Holy Week at St Michael’s

Mon 15, Tue 16, & Wed 17 Apr. 10am Low Mass.

Tue 16 Apr, 6pm Plainsong Vespers, 7pm Choir Practice.

Wed 17 Apr, Spy Wednesday, 7pm. Stations of the Cross, Pergolesi “Stabat Mater”.

Thu 18 Apr, Maundy Thursday, 7.30pm Sung Mass with Foot-washing. Casciolini in A minor. Durufle, Ubi caritas et amor.

Fri 19 Apr, Good Friday, 10.30am Veneration of the Cross. The Reproaches, Upton. Crux Fidelis, King John of Portugal.

Good Friday, 8pm Tenebrae sung from the Gallery, Plainsong, Lassus & Palestrina.

Sat 20 Apr, Holy Saturday, 8pm Easter Vigil Mass with New Fire & Paschal Candle. Darke in E. Ex ore innocentium, Ireland.

Sun 21 Apr, Easter Day, 11am Festal Sung Mass. Ireland in C. Billings, Easter Anthem. Fr C.

Wed 24 Apr, 7.30pm. St Michael’s Lecture – to be confirmed.

Sun 28 Apr, Low Sunday, 11am Sung Mass. Wood in F. This joyful Eastertide. Fr Dominic Cyrus.

 

Sat 6 Apr, 7.30pm. Exeter Festival Chorus. Miserere – Concert of Music for Lent.

Sun 7 Apr, Passion Sunday. 11am Sung Mass. Byrd for 4 voices. Verily I say unto you, Tallis. Fr Christopher Durrant.

Sun 7 Apr, 6pm Choral Evensong & Benediction. Byrd Responses. Ps 22:1-13. Gibbons Short Service. Solus ad victimam, Leighton. Fr Nigel Guthrie.

Sun 14 Apr, Palm Sunday. Earlier Start. 10.30am Procession of Palms and Sung Gospel. Tallis in Dorian mode. Byrd, Ave verum corpus. Fr C.

Holy Week & Easter

Directions


St Michael and All Angels’ Church, Dinham Road, Mount Dinham, Exeter, EX4 4EB